top of page

Food Spotlight: Orange Blossom Bakery

Hey y'all! I am so excited to take y'all along with me down to Buxton, NC, to Orange Blossom Bakery & Café to get some famous apple uglies. Whenever we are in the Outer Banks, we always make the drive down a little farther south to this amazing bakery to get these Apple Uglies that are basically the size of your head. And I'm not kidding at all! It is an awesome and very worth it drive because you are on the very famous scenic highway of the Outer Banks that allows you to see so much of our coast.


Orange Blossom Bakery & Café is truly an institution on Hatteras Island. Originally built by Walter Barnett as the Orange Blossom Motel in the 1950s, the name comes from orange trees that were located on the property. Their famous Apple Uglies are their signature item and for good reason. The history of the Apple Ugly is a wonderful accident – a visiting baker showed the Oakhams how to take the leftover donut dough and mix in some apples and create a fritter.  But the name Ugly has many different people who claim it as there own – and it’s a natural.  When you see one in person, you’ll agree that they really are the ugliest baked good you’ve ever seen – and probably the best-tasting one as well! Watch below to see just exactly what I am talking about!

If you haven't already, please SUBSCRIBE to my YouTube Channel so you can stay up to date on all my videos!


If you haven't already, please SUBSCRIBE to my YouTube Channel so you can stay up to date on all my videos!

As always, thank y'all for stopping by and reading and watching. I will see y'all back here next time!

Love, Dani

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page