top of page

5 Things I Never Travel Without

Hey y'all, Happy Wednesday! I hope all of you are having a great week so far! Let me tell you, living in the South right now is killing me because it is so dang hot. Now I am used to it, but every single day has been in the high 90's and keeps going up. To say the least I have been getting my workouts in in my gym at my apartment and not daring to go outside unless it is at night. But this is the price you pay for living in the South, especially during the summertime!

Since Summer has been in full swing, I have been traveling like a crazy person and I LOVE IT! Summer is when so many people schedule trip and make plans to go to the places they have always dreamed of going. While I was gone for a whole month and now home for a few weeks, I still have some travel planned for the rest of my summer. I do a lot of travel in the car and certainly on airplanes, but today I thought I would share the five items I never travel without!

I tend to overpack when it comes to packing for a trip but I am the girl who makes a list of every single thing I will need and as I pack it in my suitcase, I check it off. Over the years I have tried my best to narrow down the list, but let's face it, if I could pack my whole closet I would and I will never be the girl who can just travel for a week in a carry-on suitcase! No matter if I am packing for a month long trip or a quick weekend getaway, there are always five items I bring with me no matter what!

FIVE ITEMS I NEVER TRAVEL WITHOUT


1. A good travel bag/bookbag

Over the years, no matter where I am going, I always pack a backpack that holds all of my stuff that will basically keep me busy however I am traveling. I can tell you that I have had many backpacks but as I have gotten older and have my camera gear and need to be a little more organized, I have needed a backpack that will help me stay organized. The Douchebags 'The Backpack' is my favorite backpack and I use it for every trip that I go on and it truly keeps me organized and there is a place for everything.

 


2. Portable charger & 10 ft. charging cord

I have learned that hard way how important it is to travel with a portable charger and a larger charging cord that has some length to it. Hotels often have really weird placed outlets and most of the time they aren’t convenient. Now this might sound crazy but I travel with a 10 ft. charging cord so that I can still access my phone while it is charging. My phone also notoriously dies SO quickly, so anytime I travel I bring a portable charger with me that way I can charge my phone on the go if I need to! This comes in handy when you’re out exploring all day, too! This is my preferred portable charger because it’s small enough to fit in my bag but holds it’s charge a long time.

 

3. Amazon Fire tablet and a book

It is no shock that I am 100% a complete book worm and I am not hiding it! I love to read and I always travel with some sort of reading material whether it is an actual book or on my Amazon Fire tablet. Even when I’m traveling and may not have a ton of time to read I still like to bring a book with me. My Amazon Fire tablet lets me save some space in the packing scheme of things but also lets me have access to other books if I fly through the book I am reading. I like to unwind and read before bed, especially when traveling so I make sure I have at least one or two books with me at all times!

 

4. A fully stocked cosmetics bag

When it comes to traveling, I swear my toiletries take up more space than anything else. Even if I’m headed on a quick weekend away I make sure my cosmetic bag is filled with everything I will definitely need and a bunch of stuff I might need haha! I can’t tell you how many times I have traveled somewhere and had to pick up an item because I either forgot it or didn’t think I would need it. A few must have items in my cosmetic bag include chapstick, all of my medicine (migraine meds, Advil, etc.), tide-to-go pen or shout wipe, fingernail clippers, tweezers, and lotion!

 

5. My laptop and camera

Nowadays I don't go on any trips without my Apple Macbook Air or my Canon G7 X Mark ii. These are actually the first two things that I pack when I am going on a trip because they are the most important to me. Having these two things allows me to get work done on the road while also vlogging, taking pictures, and a whole bunch of other tasks. Along with both of these things comes all the gear that has to be packed for both, but it is worth it and makes me feel really good knowing I can get work done while I am traveling.

 

What are some things that y'all never travel without?

As always thank y'all for stopping by and reading! I will see y'all back here next time!

Love, D

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page