top of page

Summer Recommendations

Hey y'all! It is another wet and stormy week here in the South and I am wanting to get out of here again. Any new places that anyone would suggest visiting? I have the travel bug right now and just want to go, go, go and keep going to new places. I am really excited though because I have a great opportunity coming up this week to talk to someone about video making in the corporate world and what it looks like. I am at that point in life where I am exploring my options and what I want to do in the future. Exciting things to come but a little stressed about it all and trying to get all my stuff together.

But for today's post this is actually something that I haven't done in a little while... A RECOMMENDATION POST! I feel like I have been watching, reading, and listening to a lot of things this summer so I thought I would share that with y'all. So here it comes!

BOOKS

~The Kissing Booth by Beth Reekles: When I say that this is one of my new favorite books I am not kidding. I watched the Netflix movie first and fell in love and knew I had to read the book that inspired it all. And to think Beth Reekles published this book online and it went viral. It is such a great romantic book and yes it is cheesy but that is what you love about it! It tells the story of Elle and what happens when she falls for her best friends brother, which is a no-no for her and her best friend, Lee.

~You Are A Badass by Jen Sincero: When you feel like crap and like your not in a great spot in your life, this is the book you need to read. It is all about confidence and finding what makes you want to get out of bed in the morning and keep pushing through the normal crap. It motivated me 100% and made me want to keep achieving the craziest things. And to hear the stories of Jen Sincero and what she was doing beforehand just motivates you that much more.

~Sweetbitter by Stephanie Danler: Ahhhh what a beautifully written book that leaves you not wanting to put it down. I love a good book that takes place in New York City because that is one of my favorite places ever to visit! I am a huge food person as well and this captured everything about working in a restaurant and the craziness that has gone on in this girls life.

~Rising Strong by Brene Brown: I love this book because this really hit home for me about wanting to reset my life and start over. I have been through a lot in the last 4 years and sometimes I try to think back to my life before then and can't even imagine it. But this books captures a global conversation on courage, vulnerability, shame, and worthiness-- which we all know these are some of the things I struggle with.

NETFLIX/ MOVIES

~Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again: OH MY GOSH WHAT A MOVIE! I'm not going to lie that I have seen this several times now but I was such a big fan of the first movie that this was a must see for me. It had it all-- the dancing, the singing, the romance, and of course the beautiful island of Greece! You get to see past and present time as Sophie is getting ready to open a hotel to memorialize her mother who has passed away but you also get to see Donna has a young girl finding her way.

~The Kissing Booth: Just like the book, I AM OBSESSED WITH THIS MOVIE! I love the characters and the overall whole story of it all. And once again, yes it is a cheesy romantic movie, but it makes you want to keep watching it over and over again. Elle (Joey King) and Lee (Joel Courtney) have been best friends since they were born. To protect their special relationship, the pair created a set of friendship rules they are sworn to follow including #9: relatives totally off limits, especially Lee's bad boy older brother Noah (Jacob Elordi). But I bet you can guess how that is going to go!

~Oceans 8: I am such a huge fan of the original Ocean's movies but when I heard they were making a whole female cast version of Ocean's I was so thrilled because it is about time. But have you seen the line-up of the cast? Sandra Bullock, Cate Blanchett, Anne Hathaway, Rihanna, Sarah Paulson, Mindy Kaling, Hannah Bonham Carter, and Awkwafina. I mean come one! The thing that I love about this movie is that it still refers back to the original Ocean's as Sandra Bullock plays Danny Ocean's sister.

~Girlboss: If you want to feel like a bomb a#$ bi$%* this is the Netflix show for you to watch. Britt Robertson plays this amazing role of the girl that creates the website Nasty Gal and her journey through it all. It personally makes me want to tear the world up and show them who I am just like she did. Britt dominates this role and I am so sad that it is only one season because I would have loved to have seen where they took it next and what she did next.

PODCASTS

~The LadyGang: As I live and breathe this is my all time podcast to listen to because it truly has it all. It is hosted by the amazing lady gang of Keltie Knight, Jac Vanek, and Becca Tobin who truly kill it. They talk to so many different celebrities literally every week and dive into what it is like under the spotlight and even answer burning questions from listeners. Not only is this podcast so funny it is real and keeps you wanting to come back for more!

~MODTV Fashion Video: Oh my fashionista and shopaholic self is so happy and content when I listen to this podcast! I'm not even joking when I say that this podcast comes live from New York, Milan, and Paris during Fashion Week and gives you a backstage look and it all. I have not been yet to fashion week but this truly makes me feel like I am there and can see it all!

~Off The Vine: Kaitlyn Bristowe kills her podcast with a glass or bottle of wine right next to her! She has created this podcast to give a space for girls to feel empowered to be themselves and just like they are! Kaitlyn keeps it real 100% of the time and has some amazing guests like other fellow Bachelor and Bachelorette contestants, Shawn Booth, Michael Ray, Brandy Cyrus, Maddie & Tae, The LadyGang, Canaan Smith, and my favorite Lauren Akins!

I hope y'all liked this summer recommendation and may have even some new things to read, watch, or listen to. As always thank y'all for stopping by and reading!

Love, D

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page