top of page

It's Okay To Be An Introvert

Hey y'all! Fancy meeting you here. HAPPY FRIDAY! We are now into March and I can't believe it, I feel like the year just started but is flying by already. I am so thrilled because today is the first official day of Spring Break and I am looking forward to it for multiple reasons. The biggest reason is because my 21st birthday is next Wednesday, March 7th and this is definitely a birthday I have been looking forward to. Another reason is that my two best friends are home and we have a lot of stuff planned to do together so that makes it all the worth while. And the last reason being that I am looking forward to catching up on blog stuff, apartment stuff, and life stuff in general because I am finding that I catch up and then fall behind once again. It's a very wicked cycle that I can't seem to break-- just not enough hours in the day!

But while you are all here I want to talk about something real quick! I AM AN INTROVERT, and I am okay with it! If you know me today, you probably look at me like I have 5 heads when I say that to you because I don't appear that way at all, but dear lord I am. For years growing up, I was the kind of kid that wasn't social and actually preferred to be by myself a lot of the time and was even called a loner. Today I am much better and have more friends and talk more but I have a limit as to the amount of socializing I can do at parties or just with friends because then it kicks into my anxiety.

I have people who ask me what a typical night looks like for me and I tell them every night is different. One night I can be out with friends, another night I'm at work, and another night I'm relaxing on my couch watching my favorite tv show (*cough, cough* Teen Wolf). It all just depends on how my day, my week, or even how I am feeling on the inside, as to what I will do in my down time.

For those of you that don't really know what an introvert is, let me give you a quick run down! We aren't inherently shy BUT a lot of socializing can be overwhelming and parties can even turn into white noise. For us there is a difference between being alone and lonely and time alone is necessary for us to recharge our social batteries (y'all literally hear me say this all the time). Now we aren't just the type of people who hate socializing and being around people but too much socializing is exhausting. We choose friends very carefully- quality over quantity- and these friends are generally people who truly understand and are priceless. I can really vouch for that one and y'all hear me talk about how important my friends are, especially my best friends who are there for it all!

I love that I am able to come back to my apartment and have my alone time and really enjoy it! I not only get to do the stuff that I want to do and love to do but also do my best thinking and working when I am by myself. I don't really see myself as a leader all the time but I have found that I lead best when others are self-starters. Now growing up I was really, really quite but now I talk a little more but when I am being quite it doesn't mean I have nothing to say, it's just something that makes me feel safe and comfortable. But I have come to realize it is okay to be an introvert because it doesn't mean I am weird or anything, it just means I care a little more about my alone time or "me" time I guess you could say. Some days I love that I am an introvert and other days I don't, but I know my limits and know what I can do before I am uncomfortable or want to crawl in a hole and hide for a little bit.

If you are an introvert, I am here for you and completely understand you and your thinking. But it is okay to be an introvert trust me, it pushes you in certain directions and really makes you learn a little bit about yourself. And if you didn't know this about me, I hope you understand me a little better now and understand my thinking and the way I operate!

As always thank you guys for stopping by and reading and I will see you guys back here soon! Stay tuned for a lot of cool stuff to come!

Love, D

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page