top of page

10 Things I Am Doing Different In 2018

Hey y'all! Happy New Years Eve everybody! I know some of you have some fun plans for tonight and some of you may just be relaxing on your couch. What am I doing? I have not a clue yet but I will be with some of my favorite people so that is all I care about! This past week was busy for me getting caught up with everything and getting settled back into my routine while also taking time for myself. I know I am not the only one but at the end of this holiday season my social battery was running a little low so it is time to recharge the batteries.

Before I get into what I want to do differently in 2018, I want to recap on some of the great things that happened in 2017. Starting it off with the fact that I finally made the transfer from East Carolina to NC State and finished out of my sophomore year making Dean's List! Saw some great movies, of course one of them being Fifty Shades Darker (sorry mom!) with Hailey and Kaitlyn! Got the great opportunity that I had been hoping for at the YMCA and was asked to be the Swim Lesson Coordinator and loved every challenging minute of it over the summertime. My sister, Hailey, graduated from High School, got to go to Carolina Country Music Festival down in Myrtle Beach, and traveled to the Outer Banks with some of my family that I had not seen in a long time! Finally started at NC State and just finished my 1st semester of Junior Year and now getting ready to start my 2nd semester. And now here we are, only a few hours away from starting a new year and starting a brand new chapter!

One of the most difficult parts of my year though had to deal with my health. Ever since I can remember, I always knew I wanted to have kids and wanted to be a mom so badly. But at the beginning of this year I found out I have something called Polycystic Ovary Syndrome which makes it harder for me to have kids in the future along with some other health complications. This was really hard for me to hear and kind of saw my future vision of having a family getting derailed a little bit. From there, thats when I started focusing on myself and taking care of myself more to make sure that I was healthy and where I needed to be.

At the end of every year, I like to write a letter to myself looking back at the past year or even make a list of things that I want to do differently after the year that I have had. This year I thought I would make a list of 10 things that I want to do differently in 2018 and things that push me to be better! I really like to think about these and reflect on past years as well as think about the future and what I want to change in myself and in my life. So without further adieu here is my list of 10 things I want to do differently in 2018!

1. I'm going to try to be fearless and get out of my comfort zone

2. Try new things, whether it is food, activities, fashion, or whatever else is possible

3. Not hold so many grudges against people

4. Have a lot more fun!

5. Focus on my health and get back to the physical state that I want to be at (run a race or something)

6. Work on my relationships whether it is friends or family

7. Do something to challenge my fear of heights-- people want me to go up in a hot air balloon so we will see

8. Work smarter not harder

9. Try to help people more whether it is through work, community service, or on campus

10. Work on being the person I truly want to be while still being true to myself

I hope all of you make your own list, letter, goals, or whatever to get yourself ready to take on 2018! As always thank you all for stopping by and reading and I hope all of you have a fantastic New Years Eve! See you in 2018!

Love, D

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page