top of page

A Look Inside My New Closet

Hey y'all! I hope everybody's weekend was great! I got a lot accomplished and that is great seen is how today is the start of finals week! But with all of that being said I am really excited to share my first post with all of you about my new apartment and it is of course about my favorite room... MY CLOSET! Let me tell you I was so excited because it was bigger than my previous closet and with the amount of clothes I have, it was well needed. It took me a couple of days to finally get it all together and everything in it's right place but when I finally showed it to my sister she gave me the best compliment ever. She had told me that my closet looked like a fashion designer has thrown up in my closet. If you know me you know that that is a huge compliment for me and I was so happy when she said it!

With all of that being said I wanted to talk to all of you about how I organized my closet and the placement of everything and of course share what it looks like now. So lets dive on in shall we!

Organization

Now it took me forever to actually get everything hung for a couple of reasons. 1). I wanted everything to be in the right place so I was really visualizing what I wanted it to look like and what I could actually do, and 2). I ran out of the hangers that I was using, no joke! I knew that I wanted my nice clothes to be hung up on these black velvet hangers so I headed over to Amazon and found them for such an affordable price. These hangers make it so you don't have those ugly bumps in your clothes and so your clothes won't fall off the hanger.

The next part of my organization was of course my shoe placement. I have a lot of shoes and as soon as I took a look at my closet I knew my shoes were going to go on the middle racks because it was easy access and they can be seen easily so I could pick outfits out easier. Now I did organize them somewhat by what type of shoe they are for example, tennis shoes together, converse together, and boots together. The most important part of the organization process for me was honestly my basics and things that I wear the most area. It's the area right underneath my shoes and included there are my basics, tank tops, plain tops, sweaters (that I wear a lot), and of course my flannels. This for me was so important to have because it made it so easy to get to all of the stuff that I usually need the most and can see them so easily.

And last but not least of my organization was all of my accessories like my belts, handbags, hats, scarves, etc. All of this stuff I put on top of the racks and out of the way but still accessible for me to get to. This way I can also see all of it and not searching blind for it. This is also really helpful for me to just pull something off the shelf easily and put it on. Everything in my closet is super visible and I love it and it is such an improvement from what I had before where all of my clothes were cluttered together.

Lets Talk Hangers

So as I mentioned above I used these black velvet hangers to hang my nice clothes including, sweaters, dresses, pants, tank tops, flannels, cardigans, and so on. And let me tell you they have been a huge lifesaver so far and I am loving them! I don't have any problems so far with clothes falling off the hanger and these hangers actually help save room in my closet so I can hang more stuff up.

Now for my t-shirts, workout tops, and sweatshirts, I used just regular plastic hangers from Target or wherever you can find them the cheapest. I didn't really care to have this stuff on the black velvet hangers because I knew this stuff wasn't as big of a deal to have be looking nice compared to all my other stuff.

I hope y'all enjoyed this and I will be posting more stuff here soon revealing the rest of Hailey and I's new apartment so stay tuned for that! As always thank you all for stopping by and reading!

Love, D

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page