top of page

1 Year Of Blogging


Hey y'all! I can't believe it has been a year of blogging so far and time has truly flown by. I want to first go ahead and thank everybody for coming along on this crazy adventure with me and reading everything that I have been throwing out to all of you. This has been blessing after blessing for me and has opened my eyes as to what I really want to do in the future for my career and in life. I have learned a lot from other bloggers and gained information that I never knew was possible. So with that being said I wanted to share 12 things that I have learned from blogging in honor of The Southern Style's 1 year birthday!

1. Blogging has allowed me to talk about the things that I am passionate about and have an interest in.

2. BE YOU- I have learned to not try to be like other bloggers but to find my own niche and voice and run with it!

3. To value every person who takes their time to stop and look at what I am saying and sharing. People that read this blog and share what they are feeling with me is what keeps me going and motivated to keep sharing.

4. Stop, take a minute, and look around because there is inspiration and beautiful things all around, you just have to stop and look.

5. I've learned about myself, on a personal level, through the journeys I have gone through doing this that I would have never realized on any ordinary day.

6. Social media is so powerful and such an incredible thing, but it is okay to be offline and enjoy the things around. It is important to shut the devices off and actually have conversations with people because they are what makes the blog so successful. You never know, a great idea may come to you that way!

7. Blogging has allowed me to get to know people and learn things about them that I would never had known in just having a regular conversation with them.

8. It's not just about venting or talking about myself. It's a way for people to understand me, get some insight on my life, and even for people to relate to me and know they aren't alone out there in this crazy world we live in.

9. Don't rush anything! I have learned to take my time, make sure it is the way I want it to look, and then go for it because I know all of my readers will still be there when I am ready to go!

10. Trust your gut because in the end you are the only one that knows whats right and true for you because in reality I am sharing my life with people who don't really know me or who I have never met before.

11. I have lived in Raleigh, NC my entire life but blogging has really allowed me to get to know my beautiful city and all that it has to offer-- from restaurants to beautiful wall murals to unique shops-- so I can then share it with the rest of the world.

12. NEVER GIVE UP! Nothing comes to you without hard work and sacrifice, but let me tell you, it is all worth it in the end!

Once again I can't thank all of you enough for following me along on this crazy rollercoaster ride and for the continuous support that I get from doing this. It has truly been so much fun doing this and I look forward to every day because I know I will be learning something new about what I love, the people around me, and other people out there in the world. Stay tuned because there is so much more to come!

Love, D

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page