top of page

5 Ways To Unwind

I know we all have those days where we just want to come home, put our pjs on and say goodnight to the world. I believe that everyday is a blessing and good things will come from it. I'm not saying everyday is going to bring good things, but there is something good in everyday! One of the things that I love to do every night or anytime I can during the day is write in a journal and talk about my day or anything that is bugging me so I can get it off of my chest. I am the queen of stress, but if I can find things to help me let go of that stress I will take advantage of them. Life's to short not to enjoy it so here is how I unwind after a stressful day...

LOVE YOURSELF | This is the hardest concept ever for me because for the longest time I didn't love myself and still to this day I tend to focus on other people more than myself and not get the same in return. I don't like to take the self-pity route because I always like to be the tough one and the one that is always there for people whenever they need something. But somedays, when I feel like I have spread myself to thin I like to go home, shower, get in my pjs, and lay in bed for the rest of the day and do what I want to do. I work on the blog, watch my favorite tv shows, eat my favorite foods, and just relax. Simple things like that bring me comfort and help me to cool down from whatever happened during my day.

LISTEN TO A PODCAST OR LOOK AT OTHER BLOGS | When I am not working on my own blog I am looking at others for inspiration or just to get my mind off of things. For me those other blogs are what I love to do and look at and what I want as part of my future. As for listening to podcasts-- these are a great way to take your mind off of things while also gaining knowledge on other topics. When I come home at night this is my #1 thing to do because they bring me a certain peace just like for some people taking a bath would.

SET THE MOOD | After work every day, all I want when I get home is to have a peaceful night. Phone turned on silent (because lets be honest people still try to contact me), turn the lights off and just unwind from everything that had happened that day! A lot of people use air purification to relax and I even have one in my car so when I am driving I have this peaceful smell going throughout my car.

CLEAN UP | Though it might not sound like a great way to unwind, nothing makes me happier than having a clean bedroom and house. When there is a mess, I feel like a mess! The ability to have that order helps me to get myself refocused and feel better about whatever is going on. Cleaning (when I actually want to do it) is actually therapeutic for me and when I feel worked up, I love to get my closet organized and room looking better. This is a healthy way to channel my energy and turn it into something productive.

MAKE A LIST OR WRITE IT DOWN | I am a person who needs to visually see something to understand it or to be able to remember it most days with my busy schedule. Now this might not be the same for you, but if I have a lot going on, I love to make a list so I can physically see everything I have to do. It also relaxes me to be able to come home and cross things off of my list because I then feel like I accomplished something. You can also count on the fact that if you stopped me anywhere, that I will have a notebook of some kind with me so I can write stuff down whenever something comes to mind.

Outfit Details: Top | Jeans | Booties

I know we all have our difficult days and you might have certain things you use to help you unwind after a long day. But maybe, just maybe, you read this and are gonna try one of these 5 things I use to help you unwind and fall in love with it! Hope you guys have a good rest of your week.

Love, D

P.S. Pictures taken by Caroline Merrill Photography!

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page