top of page

What I've Been Reading and Watching


Happy Tuesday Everybody! I have been crazy busy this summer so any time that I have to myself I take advantage of it. This might sound really typical but in my free time I love to watch new shows or shows I haven't watched in a long time as well as read new books and reread books that I love! Summertime is literally meant for this kind of thing, especially reading if you are sitting by the pool or on the beach or having a lazy weekend and laying in bed and relaxing watching some Netflix. Below are some of the shows and books that I have been divulging in so far this summer!

Reads

1. // Two By Two // By Nicholas Sparks: This is by far one of the best books Nicholas Sparks has ever written and I should know because I have read all of them. It is so relevant and true and really spoke to me and I could relate so much to it. It had marital problems, separation and divorce, being a single parent, losing a family member, and finding that true love all over again. I will warn you, it might make you cry at some parts but that's good for the soul every once in a while.

2. // Against All Odds // By Danielle Steel: I fell in love with this book immediately and had a hard time putting it down once I started it. It is about a mother and her 4 grown kids that live in New York and each of her kids teaches you a lesson and shows you what it is like to go against the odds and what those choices can lead to. You get to see each of the stories and I related so much to this because it all came back to family and how they are always there for you no matter what!

3. // Grey // By E.L. James: Yes, yes I know this might sound perverted but if you are as big of a Fifty Shades fan as I am, you definitely have to read "Grey" because it is takes you into the mind of Christian Grey and you get to see his perspective. It is truly enlightening and really intriguing especially if you have read the trilogy and understand what is going on. What makes these even better is the E.L. James is even making a Christian version for each of the other books so stay tuned for that.

4. // The Devil Wears Prada // By Lauren Weisberger: Now if the name of this book looks familiar to you its because it was actually turned into a movie starring Meryl Streep and Anne Hathaway. I fell in love with this book immediately because of my love and fascination for fashion as well as New York, that I loved every bit of it and wanted more after I was done reading it. But this book is really about how far you will let your self go until you realize you don't recognize yourself anymore and regret the decisions you have made.

Shows

1. // The Bold Type // On Freeform and Hulu: I'M OBSESSED! This is by far my favorite show right now and I cannot get enough of it! It comes on Freeform every Tuesday night at 9 pm and is based off of the magazine Cosmopolitan. The show is based around these three women-- Kat, Jane, and Sutton-- who work for a super successful magazine Scarlet that is based in New York and I truly cannot get enough of it!

2. // Royal Pains // On Netflix: Now this is like Greys Anatomy but with a little more comedy and laughter and a lot of the Hampton's! For me this show is fascinating because it isn't like other doctor shows where everything is based around a hospital. This show is based on a doctor Hank who uses whatever he can find to save lives as quickly as possible and it is fascinating to see. And if you would like to see a little bit of the Hampton's, some fashion, really big houses, and some cool parties you will definitely like this show.

3. // Hawaii Five-0 (Season 7) // On Netflix: My all time favorite show because it truly has everything-- family, friendship, kids, action, crime, marriage, relationships, an occasional good looking guy and a whole lot of Hawaii. This has been one of my favorite shows for years now and I love how the biggest theme of all is still family. This last season just came on Netflix and I immediately started re-watching it again because I was so in love with this past season. So if you have Netflix I highly suggest going and binge watching Hawaii Five-0!

4. // Greys Anatomy (Season 13) // On Netflix and Hulu: I am not wrong here when I say that there is not a better on the face of the planet than Greys Anatomy! Season 13 was truly a great season because it hit all the right spots with all kinds of emotions happening. There are even some new couples happening and what is a new season of Greys Anatomy without a lot of drama!

I hope you go and check some of these books and shows out because it will make for a great lazy Sunday or whatever day you are free to do whatever you want!

Love, D

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page