top of page

Lessons To Live By


Truly everyday I learn a new lesson from the experiences that I have, the people around me, and my overall environment. But I always believe that the lessons we learn or are taught, are what make us who we are and guide a path for us for our futures. So I wanted to share the 20 most important lessons that I have learned over the last 20 years because I live by them on a daily basis.

  1. Don't let the one thing you don't have affect how you feel about all the things you do have.

  2. You will never be happy if you constantly compare yourself.

  3. Caring about yourself is more important than you know. Getting a good nights sleep, eating well, exercising, and relaxing or else life will build up and hit you like a ton of bricks.

  4. You will come to appreciate both the good and the bad experiences and even the people who caused them.

  5. Cherish your family because they are the only truly constant thing you have in your life.

  6. Actions speak LOUDER than words.

  7. Not everyone will like you and that is perfectly fine because you aren't here to please everyone-- that would be an exhausting life. If someone doesn't like you, thats their loss. Let them hate and you just keep on loving.

  8. Be true to yourself, be kind to others, and let your passion shine.

  9. Don't let anyone diminish your shine. Don't let anyone define your worth.

  10. You survived, what was at the time, the hardest thing you had ever been through. You can do it again.

  11. Find the balance between being spontaneous and having a plan.

  12. You may have thought you "found yourself," but you find out you didn't know a thing about yourself until you face life truly on your own.

  13. Don't judge a book by its cover because you don't know their full story.

  14. Put the phone down and actually have a conversation with someone face-to-face.

  15. Roll with the punches because you never know what is going to happen next.

  16. You might think you're the only one with a particular problem, but you will always find that you're not alone because somebody out there has that same problem.

  17. The messed up people and situations in your life are not your fault and are not your responsibility to fix. They have to help themselves and fix their own problems.

  18. Do the things you love and don't let anyone change your plans and passions.

  19. Everyone has tummy rolls. Stop chasing the impossible expectations that are set by society and just be yourself.

  20. My favorite words to live by: "I don't want to be, Anything other than what I've been trying to be lately, All I have to do, Is think of me and I have peace of mind, I'm tired of looking 'round rooms, Wondering what I've go to do, Or who I'm supposed to be, I don't want to be anything other than me." (Thanks Gavin DeGraw!)

Maybe, just maybe, some of these lessons resonate with you and you may just learn a new one that you have never thought or heard of.

I hope everyone has a great 4th of July and enjoys all of the festivities and fireworks!

Love, D

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page