top of page

Do You Ever Feel Left Out Or Like You're Not Good Enough?


I know this may seem like a vague question or that it is asked all the time. But I’m gonna ask it anyway!

Do you ever feel left out or like you are not good enough?

Maybe that’s too vague of a question.

Do you ever feel like you don’t belong? Do you ever feel like you have to try 10x harder to fit in? Are you always comparing yourself to other people? Am I pretty enough? Skinny enough? Interesting enough?

Because I do. All the time.

But I know I am not the only one who does this and I want the other people out there to know you are not alone.

I feel all of these things on a daily basis in so many different ways- big and small. I have felt them for a long time and more often than most people think. It really depends on the day though and everything that is going on around me. But I have learned over the years that whether we like or not, we all go through these things.

And I know at some point we all feel inadequate and like we don’t belong, or at least can relate to the feeling of this.

The hardest part of it all is to be self-aware and not only realize what the problems are, but to actually do something about it.

I can definitely say that it is hard not to get swept up in the negative cycle, especially with the busy daily lives that we all have. With this I forget that I am not alone in a battle against the comparison struggle.

For me, over the years, I always felt like I was never good enough and was never going to be because of the feelings that would overcome me. I used to look around me and see people, that in my eyes, were better than me and I was never going to be like that. Which made me feel even sadder, as you could imagine.

And I know everybody has felt like they are left out and can really add to the not feeling like you belong. I know thats a factor of mine because there is nothing I hate more than being left out because I am the type of person that wants to be involved in everything that is going on.

But I have found that there is a way to not feel like this on a daily basis. I mean come on you know you are still gonna feel bad every know and then, if you have never had a bad day please tell me your secret.

We all have our days, as I like to call them “in a funk.” But they are controlled by our feelings.

With feeling like this it is important to find ways to pull yourself out of these funks. And these are not going to be things that help everybody but I wanted to share what I have found out about myself and what helps me best.

I have always ran straight to food, and I am fixing that now, but hello thats why they call it comfort food. But I have recently really been trying to gear myself towards working out and getting all my frustrations out that way. And I know people are reading this going I am not going to the gym and sweating to make myself feel better, but it helps me because one of my issues has always been my weight. When in doubt these two things don’t work for me I plug in my headphones, turn my sad music on, and just cry it out.

Some people may be thinking, god she is a nutcase, I’m not I swear. I have found that crying it out as truly let me be free and just get out of my system. Which makes me feel 10x better and is kind of like a reset button for me.

I know this may not help people right away but I just wanted to start the conversation and see what other people had to say so please don’t hesitate to let me know.

Love, D

P.S. Pictures done by Caroline Merrill so go check her out!

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page