top of page

What Inspires Me


I get questions all the time as to what things inspire me and how the inspiration keeps flowing. I wanted to share with everybody some of the things that do inspire me and why they inspire me! So here they are:

Friends and Family

My friends and family are the most important thing in my life and I could physically not function without them. I get inspiration from them on a daily basis because of the things that they teach me and the things we go through together. My family has always been there for me and continue to be there and we are some crazy people that love to do crazy things which makes for some good stories and funny memories. I get beauty inspiration from my sister and her best friend, fashion inspiration from my best friend and roommate, and cooking inspiration from my grandmothers and especially my mom.

Social Media

Our generation today can't function without some type of social media account and I am included in that head count! But for me social media is more of a way to look at what other people are doing and to get inspiration as how to do things differently or look at things differently. Instagram is really my go to social media because as everybody knows I am a huge picture taking person. But for me Instagram is a way to visually see things and really be able to relate to them. One of the other biggest social media outlets for me is Pinterest... I do slightly have a Pinterest obsession because you can find just about anything on there which makes it absolutely perfect when trying to find some inspiration!

What I See Around Me

I'm betting that everybody can relate to this in some sort of way because everywhere we look there is something out there that can inspire us! I could be on the bus on the way to campus and see something that gives me a brilliant idea or even walking through the mall and seeing what other people are wearing or doing. It's the little things like that that spark my imagination and creativity to keep finding something new and exciting to do or talk about. Restaurants are even a great inspiration for me because of their environments and the decorations they have can give me about a 100 different ideas all at once!

Looking at What Other People Wear and Then Looking at My Closet

So y'all know by now that I love my fashion but sometimes I lack the creativity or motivation to get up in the morning and make myself look presentable and look like I am an actual human being! But when I see people around campus, out in public, or even on social media, wearing something that I like or even the style of it, I always want to try to create that look in some kind of way. I like to call it Clothes Envy.... and you can't tell me you have never experienced it before with some type of item!!

Certain Celebrities

In our world today, we look up to celebrities like they are these mythical creatures that amaze us and we act like we have never seen them before. But for me there are certain celebrities that hold a great deal of inspiration for me and continue to show me how to do things differently. Other fellow bloggers are a huge inspiration for me because I get to see how they are doing things and they even give me ideas for future posts. Becca Tilley, Collins Tuohy, and Christine Andrew are all huge inspirations to me and have such different topics and posts that I can sit on their sites for hours and just read and read. One of my favorite celebrities to look at is Lauren Akins! Now y'all might not know her but she is Thomas Rhett's wife and she is freaking amazing!! She has amazing taste and even better style and in a way I can relate to her because she is all about family and friends! Some other celebrities that inspire me are Blake Lively, Sarah Hyland, and Lily Collins, and all 3 of them are truly fabulous motivators and inspirations to me!

TV Shows and Movies

Depending on what you watch you can get a huge amount of inspiration. My all time favorite show is One Tree Hill and in the later seasons the fashion is seriously at its best and actually really inspired me to find my own look and style and not try to change who I was! But it wasn't just the fashion that I loved about that show it was the fact that you could be anything you wanted to be and you still had people that would love and support you no matter what you did. I bet everybody can find some kind of movie or show like that that they can relate to.

I hope everybody enjoyed reading this and I hope that just maybe it made you think about the things that inspire or motivate you to keep going and striving on a daily basis!

Love, D

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page