top of page

Hockey Family


Every since I was a little girl I can remember sitting at the RBC Center, which is now the PNC Center, watching the Carolina Hurricanes play! Now you might be thinking, hockey in the South... isn't that odd?? Not to me! I basically grew up around the rink and still to this day every time I get to go to a Canes game I get so excited because in a way it feels like home! For me the coolest thing that I have ever been to though was the 2005-06 Stanley Cup Playoffs where the Hurricanes actually won the Stanley Cup... and I WAS THERE! But outside of the Canes games we also go to see Kyle, Hailey's boyfriend, play and sometimes it is better than an NHL game but still we are also at the ice rink. I have been to so many games for different occasions and with so many different people and each time has been just as much fun as the last.

But tonight was a somewhat special night for me because I was finally able to go to my first game of the 2016-17 hockey season. I went with my dad and my sister to see the Hurricanes play the Washington Capitals and unfortunately we lost in Shootout 4-3. It was still a great game because we had great seats and some amazing food. The PNC Arena has some incredible food, as weird as that might sound, but I get some of the best BBQ there and some other delicious treats that just aren't the same anywhere else!

 

Now for everybody wondering what you wear to a hockey game, please, please don't be the person who wears shorts and a short sleeve shirt to a game because it is going to be colder than you think it is. I typically wear my Carolina Hurricanes jersey along with some jeans and either combat boots or my Frye boots. I would really suggest buying a Men's jersey because you are going to wash it and it is going to shrink. Even though you are going to be sitting down wear some comfortable shoes because you are going to have to walk around the parking lot and the arena. Down below is some of my suggestions of where to get the best hockey game gear and outfit ideas! Enjoy!

Love, D

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page