top of page

Living In A Broken Household


3 years ago today I got news that would change my world for the rest of my life. I know its not uncommon for a persons parents to get divorced, but ​​for me I thought it would never happen. I had grown up thinking my parents loved each other a lot and they were gonna be together for the rest of their lives. The moment that my parents told my sister and I, I knew I was gonna have new responsibilities and a new role in the household. As soon as we were told, everything kind of moved in hyper speed and we never had a minute to process everything that was going on. Two days after we ​​were told, my dad was already boxing up his stuff and having my sister and I help him find places to live. Until he actually moved into his new place my mom and dad were going in and out of the house and staying particular nights so they could see my sister and I for an equal amount of time. From there came the news that we were gonna have to sell the house that I had been living in since I was 6 and move somewhere else along with having to go to mandatory therapy with each of my parents. A lot has changed in the passed 3 years and nothing has slowed down, but the change is inevitable now and you have to roll with the punches when they come.

My Sister and I

During this time my sister and I became really close and we both knew that we were gonna be the only constant thing in each others lives from that point forward. She really became my best friend and we really learned a lot about each other. We really grew together and stuck together through everything and if either of us had a problem we came to each other about it. During all of this we also got to experience it all together and kind of go through the same struggles. Sure sometimes we disagreed and took a particular parents side, but we never forgot that we were sisters and that we were gonna have to work through all of this together.

What This Has Taught Me

I am not a person who likes change, but of course this is quite possibly the biggest change that has ever happened to me. So for me I have had to roll with the punches and take one day a time. But from there on, I have learned that family is family and they are the ones that are gonna be there through everything. Since the beginning of this rollercoaster, I have a lot of new people come into my life and a few that have truly made a difference and I appreciate them for that and helping me get through those difficult times.

What I've Learned About Myself

I think its an understatement to say that I have changed and through that change have learned a lot about myself, some things that I really didn't like and some that I did. I really had to become an independent person and had to take on a bunch of responsibility to help out and ultimately kind of help put the puzzle pieces back together that was now my broken home. But I truly believe I became a stronger person but every once in a while there is weak moment where I wish my parents were still together and that I wasn't having to go back and forth between houses every other weekend.

Learning New Things About My Parents

I always grew up thinking that my parents were going to be together for forever but after going through all of this, I could never see my parents getting back together or even still being together. It truly is a funny thing to see your parents when they aren't together and how different they are. I have of course learned things about each of them that I could have gone my whole life without knowing, and believe me there are some things I don't want to know. But with all of this happening, I have been able to grow a stronger bond with each of them and creating new and fun memories.

My Advice

My advice for anybody having to go through this is don't be afraid to speak your mind and let people know how you are doing and feeling and really don't be afraid to ask for help... because believe me you are going to need it. Most importantly rely on family because they are there to help you through anything that comes your way. I have the most amazing family and would not have been able to get through everything without them!

Love, D

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page