top of page

Game Day Outfit Ideas for Tailgating + Football Games

Hey y'all! When I was applying to colleges the biggest thing that I wanted was not only a great academic program but sports, more importantly I wanted football. I have grown up around college football my entire life and loved the idea of getting to cheer on my own college team. The one challenge and fun aspect to it, is what to wear on game day. Now I know this is such a girl thing for me to be saying but there is always a theme to each game, for example, for NC State we have red outs, white outs, and black outs to fit our colors but we have other themes as well.

Figure out what the go to style/vibe is for your team. Do people dress up like they do at NC State (where I go to school)? Do they wear jerseys and t-shirts, or is it more of a cute outfit, but not super dressy, kind of a place. I’ve seen everything at this point! Make sure you know what the weather is going like, and if it is going to change during the game. This always determines, what I bring into the stadium, and usually what shoes I wear. Pack accordingly… rain coat, or an extra layer if the temp drops at night.

It is fun to figure out what to wear and cheer on your team and really make your home stadium look awesome! It is also really fun to add in fun accessories like statement earrings, bracelets, or just a clear bag to fit the clear bag policies that are in place now. I have put together some of my favorite game day outfit ideas for tailgating and football games and I am really excited to be sharing them with y'all! Now of course you can switch these things out with your school's colors, but this is just to give y'all ideas. Make your game day outfits your own and make them in your style because that is what makes them so much fun to put together! What do y'all like to wear to football games to cheer on your team?

 

GRAPHIC TEE

A graphic tee is always a great option and can be super fun to put together. My ultimate favorite graphic tee for game day is the "It's Game Day Y'all" tee because it fits the south and myself so perfectly! These kind of graphic tees are super easy to find and my #1 place to look for them is on Etsy. Etsy is flooded with all kinds of game day graphic tees that you can check out and even have some customizable to your own school or team.

DRESS IT UP

I love to look fancy for game day sometimes because in the South thats just how we do it. Dressing up and making game day even more fun just adds to the overall feel of things. I love to of course wear my teams colors but most of the time will always wear my cowboy boots because they are comfortable to wear and I don't mind them getting dirty. Now you can switch cowboy boots out for wedges or platform sandals or even boots and booties, depending on the time of year. I absolutely love this black dress because it is so fun to move around in and keeps me super cool.

CUTOFFS + COWBOY BOOTS

Most of the time, you will always catch me wearing my cowboy boots and because it stays relatively warm down here in the South well through college football season, it is easy to wear cutoffs for most the season. I absolutely love finding fun tops that fit my teams colors, like this awesome Universal Thread Red & White Checkered Top. I love that is has a couple of my teams colors in it and it still dressed up but is fun and relaxed as well. I don't just hunt for college game day pieces, I like to find tops like this that I can wear multiple times and will fit into a lot of categories. My cutoffs and cowboy boots are always a staple though.

TANK TOP STYLE

I love how easy a tank top is to wear for game days, whether it is a regular tank top or a body suit or some special/fun type of tank top. I have been loving my satin tank tops that I have been raving to y'all about because they can be worn dressed up or dressed down. It is super easy to pair a tank top with cutoffs, a skirt, or any kind of jeans. I am a jeans and cutoffs girls and love that by changing between those two things you can have a completely different outfit. Tank top's are one of the easiest things to buy for college game days and super easy to buy based on your team's colors!

 

What do y'all like to wear for game days? Where do y'all shop to get your college game day essentials?

As always thank y'all for stopping by and reading! I will see y'all back here next time!

Love, Dani

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page