top of page

Half Marathon Series | Top 3 Tips

Hey y'all! I hope all of y'all's week is going well! I have been feeling super worn down because I have been training so much for my half marathon and working a ton on new content, that I feel like sleep has not been the greatest for me. Let me tell y'all though, we have been having 70 degree weather and sunshine here in Raleigh for the last couple of days and I LOVE IT! It's not too hot and no humidity with just a little bit of a breeze. That is what I call some perfect southern weather.

Like I said above, I have been training hard for my 9th half marathon that I am supposed to be running down in Dallas, Texas, at the end of April. We will see if it actually happens now due to the Coronavirus but I am still pushing forward with my training. I will be really upset if it doesn't happen because I have been looking so forward to it but what am I gonna do. With my training about halfway through, I am making this half marathon series to share a bunch of different elements that go into running any type of distance race. I am talking about things from how I hydrate and what I eat to the training program I use and how I workout. For this first episode I am starting it off nice and easy with my top 3 tips on how to just get started. Hope y'all enjoy!

If you haven't already, please SUBSCRIBE to my YouTube Channel so you can stay up to date on all my videos!

If you haven't already, please SUBSCRIBE to my YouTube Channel so you can stay up to date on all my videos!

MY TOP 3 TIPS

1. SIGN UP FOR A RACE

My biggest advice if you are a new runner, is just to take that leap and sign up for whatever race you have a goal for. Doesn’t matter what the distance is, to have a specific goal and set date. To go along with this, I would also suggest picking a training program that speaks more to you and works well with your schedule and how you want to train. The two biggest and most common ones out there are Higdon and Galloway. Both very different but both are great to help you train for whatever type of running race you have signed up for.

2. Get A Proper Pair Of Running Shoes

I am begging y'all, PLEASE get a proper pair of running shoes! Having a proper pair of running shoes will help prevent injuries and will really go along way for you. I know that a good pair of running shoes may be an investment, but y'all they 100% so worth it. To make sure you get the right pair for your feet, I would suggest going to a running store of some sort. They will watch you walk and run and most really good running stores will now have machines that can scan your feet. Those scans will look at your arches and where you need more support. Getting a good pair of running shoes is really all about form and function and not how pretty they are or what they look like.

3. Go Easy On Yourself

Don't put so much pressure on yourself and get caught up in all of the crap. Through the 12 years of running that I have done, the biggest thing that I have learned is to listen to your body. If you need to stop and walk, walk. If you need to take a day off, take a day off. Doing these things will benefit you in the long run. Worrying about how fast I am going or how far, completely ruins the experience and journey of it all. In my current experience, worrying about my speed and how fast I am supposed to be going, has taken away the joy of it all but when I don't worry about all that, I just feel free and that I am going for a run. Especially if this is your first race, Listen to your body so you can run the whole race at your pace so that your body feels good.

 

I want to know what y'all do for running. What types of races have y'all run? What training programs have you used? What type of running shoes to you run in?

Stay tuned for more episodes in this Half Marathon Series! As always, thank y'all for stopping by and reading and watching! I will see y'all back here next time!

Love, Dani

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page