top of page

How I Pack For Every Photo Shoot

One of the things that I love about blogging, is the planning that goes into it. You may be thinking,"Danielle what are you on today?" Nothing at all because I am a massive planner and live for things like this. But the thing that I love to plan is photoshoots and what I want done. It’s no secret that having the best images possible is an important part of having a successful blog. You could have the best photographer and photo filters, but if you’re struggling with how you look, it’ll be obvious in your content too. This is why I put forth so much energy into planning and preparing for a shoot. You may be thinking that doing all of this is a piece of cake but I am here to tell you it is not. Behind the scenes there is a ton of chaos that happens and today I am breaking down how to pack for a photo shoot to ensure a seamless process if you have some sort of photo shoot getting ready to happen.

Planning My Outfits

Photoshoots typically have to be planned in advance to align with my content calendar. What that means is I’m rarely getting dressed on a whim to go take photos. What this means is that I make a list of every concept that I need photographed and then figure out what I want each outfit or concept to look like. This is fun because I get to be creative and really put things together with my hands and see everything in front of me. It's like a concept coming to life in front of your eyes.

I’ll try to pull 3-5 outfits to shoot at a time, which involve pulling out the clothing items or trends I want to highlight and then building looks around them. Once I’ve pulled those pieces out, I try on every single outfit in front of a full-length mirror and match them up with the best shoes and handbags. I have an extra empty bedroom with an empty closet so I typically like to have everything hanging in there until the day of the photoshoot so nothing gets wrinkled in a bag. I then put them into my Beis Weekender Bag because it keeps everything super organized and separated by what I need.

Jewelry & Accessories

I think this is the area that takes the longest for me because I have a lot of jewelry and like to go through every piece of it based on the outfit. These items can really make or break an outfit when taking pictures so I take my time with this area. I have a completely different jewelry organizer that I pack all my jewelry in to make sure everything is organized and not getting messed up. Once I have my jewelry I will typically go through my sunglasses and figure out which pair will work best with each outfit and what bags to pack as well.

Photo Shoot Time

When it is time to shoot, I try to have as much fun as possible and keep things light because if not you don't feel 100% and that shows in your photos. So I will have music playing or be laughing or dance around in between to keeps things fun. I have always loved taking pictures and thats why it is so super easy for me to do it when it comes time to shoot day. Now when it comes to changing outfits, I have become the QUEEN of changing in the car. It helps now that I have a bigger car with more space but I am typically in the back of my car changing and getting into the next outfit. I am a creature of habit too, that when it comes to location, I typically go to the same area because it is so diverse in wall color and store fronts and surroundings that things are always different and never the same.

As always, thank y'all for stopping by and reading! I will see y'all back here next time!

Love, Dani

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page