top of page

What To Know About Traveling Solo

Thinking about traveling the other day, I calculated how long I have been traveling and when it all began. Now my first car road trip was actually when I was a baby but that was just to the beach where I was constantly at. My first ever airplane trip was when I was 2 years old and I went up to Boston with my mom. Ever since then, I have been traveling by car and on planes. You want to hear something funny... my recent trip to Atlanta, GA was my first ever solo airplane trip. I know right it only took me 20 years of traveling to do it by myself! If you haven't noticed, most of the trips that I go on, I travel with my dad, my mom, my sister, friends, and family.

Even though I wasn't alone in Georgia, it was still my first time traveling by myself like this where I was having to tackle airports and security by myself. I was a little nervous about doing this because the analogy I make is going to the doctors for the first time without your parents. I can say that the trip was a huge success and I was able to pat myself on the back after it was done because I accomplished something, in my eyes, that was a monumental thing for me. Having done this, I thought I would share some tips with y'all that I learned over my first solo trip that I think is important for everybody to know.

Now if you haven't checked out my Atlanta, GA travel vlog you can click here to watch it!

HERE'S WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT TRAVELING SOLO BY AIRPLANE

Check In 24 Hours In Advance

Nowadays you don't really have to print out your boarding pass but just save it to your phone or take a screenshot of it. This is really easy to do from whatever airline's app that you are flying. This is also the time to check to make to see if you have some sort of security fast pass, like TSA Pre-check or CLEAR, which is only at some of the airports.

Make Sure To Have Your Proper Credentials

This is one of the most important steps in traveling and that is to make sure that you have your proper credentials. Whether that is just a basic drivers license or your passport, make sure you have it and in a handy place in case you need to get it quickly.

Schedule Your Arrival At the Airport

I am the type of person that likes to get to the airport early because you never know what things are going to look like that day. When traveling solo, you need to make sure you have the proper transportation set up, whether you are driving yourself, Uber, Lyft, or having a friend or family member take you to the airport. Make sure you have that ride ready to go.

Depending on what airport I am flying out of, whether it is my home airport or another states, I always research it to see what it is going to be like around the time of my flight. I am talking about how long it is going to take to get through security, traffic around airport, and even at the ticket desks as soon as you walk in the airport.

Security

Ahhh security, the one thing we all really hate about traveling by airplane but the thing that keeps us the most safe. Plan to arrive with plenty of time so you are not stressed about getting through security in enough time. Also make sure you are packed to TSA standards so they do not have to pull your luggage and waste more of your time.

Always Look Back

When traveling alone, it is the most important thing to make sure that you have eyes on your bags at all times. Whether that is sitting down at the gate, checking departure times, in the bathrooms, or getting food, make sure you have eyes on your stuff at all times. Also look around to make sure you haven't left anything behind when you get up from a spot.

Go To Your Gate

My biggest advice for when traveling alone is just to go to your gate and hang out there. That way you are there and not having to run through the airport because you decided to sit down and grab a bite to eat or walk around the airport. This way you can also keep an eye on the board at the gate and if any changes are made, as to gates or seats, you are right there and aware of the changes.

Listen To The Boarding Instructions

This is one of my pet peeves with traveling and that is when people board the plane when they are not supposed to. We all want to get on just wait your turn! You will hear the announcements from the counter and they will tell you when it is your turn to board. Most airlines nowadays do it by section but some may still do it by seats or rows. Just make sure to listen so you can hear when your section is called.

Arrival Transportation

I also do research on the airport I am arriving at so I am prepared to what traffic is going to look like, transportation options, and so forth. The biggest thing for traveling solo is to make sure you have your ride set up to pick you up from the airport when you get there and make sure it is a reliable one.

 

Do y'all have any tips for when you are traveling solo?

As always thank y'all for stopping by and reading! I will see y'all back here next time!

Love, D

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page